Winner of the M. Wynn Thomas Prize 2018 Announced

Posted on 3 July 2018
Dr Elizabeth Edwards, Research Fellow at the Centre for Advanced and Celtic Studies (CAWCS), has been announced as one of two recipients of the prestigious M. Wynn Thomas Prize for 2018.

 Since 2012, the Prize has been awarded annually to recognise outstanding scholarship in the study of Welsh writing in English. It has two categories with Liz winning the ‘Open’ category and Seth Armstrong Twigg (Cardiff University) winning the ‘New Scholars’ category.

 The Prize is awarded for a piece of substantial scholarship that is engagingly written, with submissions that are ground-breaking in terms of subject-matter and/or methodology encouraged. Topics may include all aspects of Welsh writing in English as well as the inter-relationship of Welsh writing in English with related areas (Welsh Studies, history, cultural studies, film/media studies, translation studies, performance/theatre studies, digital humanities, and comparative literature).

The judges for the 2018 Prize were Professor Kirsti Bohata (Swansea University), Dr Jamie Harris (Aberystwyth University) and Dr Sarah Morse (Learned Society of Wales). Liz’s winning essay, entitled ‘”A kind of geological novel”: Wales and travel writing, 1783-1819’, will be published in July in the scholarly journal Romanticism. The judges felt that the essay ‘considers a very original topic in an elegant and subtle manner and that it expands the potential of the field of Welsh Writing in English quite significantly.’

 Speaking about winning the award, Liz said:

 ‘It’s a great honour to receive this award for my work on Romantic-period travel writing in Wales. Travel writing is such an exciting and varied subject area, and I hope my piece will highlight the richness of little-known Welsh source material.’ The research for this essay was undertaken as part of an AHRC-funded project on Thomas Pennant and the Welsh and Scottish Tour between 1760 and 1820, a collaboration between the University of Wales Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies and the University of Glasgow. For further information about the project, see or follow its progress on Twitter: @cur_trav.

 The prize was awarded at the 30th annual conference of the Association of Welsh Writing in English, held at Gregynog Hall in May 2018. Sponsored by the University of Wales Press and Parthian Books, each winner receives £150 and a full set of the ‘Library of Wales’ series of books (published by Parthian).


Search News

Select Category