University of Wales 2014 Graduation Celebration

Posted on 1 May 2014

Capped and gowned scholars are to descend upon the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff on the 1st and 2nd of May, marking the end of their studies with a Graduation Celebration organised by the University of Wales. Over 1500 graduates and nearly 2500 guests from across the globe will attend the graduation celebrations and will be visiting from places around the world, including China, Hong Kong, India, Singapore and Europe.

The ceremonies will be presided over by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Medwin Hughes DL, and each graduate will be greeted personally by senior officers of the University of Wales.

The University will also be awarding degrees on an honorary basis to recognise achievements in academe, the arts, literature, science, commerce and industry, professional life and service to the public or to the University. The five persons receiving these degrees this year are:

Sir Michael Barber - Doctor of Letters honoris causa- in recognition for services to education on the world stage including the development of education systems and reform in the UK.
Chief Education Advisor with Pearson, Sir Michael is a former government advisor and an education strategist and leading authority on education systems and reform (school improvement, standards, performance and funding) both in the UK and internationally. He has a particular interest in providing access to educational opportunity for children of low income families in the developing world.

Professor Brian C Lentle MD – Doctor of Science honoris causa – in recognition to the global contribution made by a graduate of the University of Wales to Radiology and Nuclear Medicine.
A graduate of the then Welsh National School of Medicine, Professor Lentle is an international champion of education and the building of international relationships to promote research in Radiology and Nuclear Medicine. A former President of Radiological Society of North America, he is a global authority on the radiology of osteoporosis and on the history of medicine.

His Honour Judge Eifion Roberts – Doctor of Laws honoris causa- in recognition of his contribution to the law and higher education in Wales.
Since concluding a distinguished career in the law - as a Barrister and then a Judge on the Wales and Chester Circuit, Judge Eifion Roberts has made an immense contribution to higher education in Wales for over 25 years. This included terms serving as a Member and then Chairman of the Bangor University and, since 2007, directly as a Member of the Council of the University of Wales.

Mr Lewis Jones Evans- Doctor of Economics and Social Science honoris causa- in recognition of his contribution to the culture and heritage of Wales and for his support for the University of Wales and higher education in Wales.
A successful Welsh businessman and former Managing Director of Girobank plc, Lewis Jones Evans has been a distinguished supporter of Welsh heritage and culture for over 25 years – including as a Board member of the National Eisteddfod of Wales, Wales Tourist Board and Business in the Community, Chairman of the National Playing Fields Association (Wales) and a Director of Cardiff Bay Opera Trust. He is also a past independent member of the University of Wales Press Board and Audit Committee.

Mr Nigel Annett CBE- Doctor of Economics and Social Science honoris causa- in recognition of his contribution to business innovation in the water industry in Wales.
Recently retired as the Managing Director of Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water, Nigel Annett co-founded Glas Cymru, the not-for-profit company that owns Dŵr Cymru on behalf of Welsh customers under a business model designed in Wales and for Wales, which has showcased Welsh innovation and won awards for corporate and social responsibility. In 2014, he was made a Commander of the British Empire for services to the water industry and for his voluntary services to the international charity Water Aid.

The University is delighted to recognise the achievements and contributes that Sir Michael Barber, Professor Brian C Lentle, His Honour Judge Eifion Roberts, Mr Lewis Jones Evans and Mr Nigel Annett CBE have each made in their respective fields, and is very proud to welcome them all as Honorary Graduates of the University of Wales.

Graduates and their guests will stay in and around Cardiff, which will not only provide them with an opportunity to visit the local sites and attractions, but will also be a boost to Welsh tourism and to the local economy.


Notes to Editors:

For more information on The University of Wales please visit:
For press and media information, please contact the Communications Team by email -


Search News

Select Category