Scholarships Awarded to Eight Aberystwyth Students

Posted on 7 December 2011

Scholarship Winner Polina Kalentsits

The University of Wales is pleased to announce that the annual Price Davies Scholarship has been awarded to eight students of Aberystwyth University.

£400 will be awarded to each of the following undergraduate students: Heather Bell (1st yr), Thomas Goodwin (1st yr), Jordon Lormas (1st yr), Rachel Elizabeth Evans (2nd yr), Laura Susan Kennedy (2nd yr), Catherine Elizabeth Duerden (2nd yr), Polina Kalentsits (3rd yr) and Ashley Cook (3rd yr).

The Price Davies scholarships are made available annually based on the results of the Entrance Scholarships Examination held at Aberystwyth University.
Scholarship winner, Laura Kennedy, currently studying for a BSc in Physical Geography, said:

“I am amazed to have won the Price Davies Scholarship, having not really expected to receive anything after giving my university scholarship exams a go. I intend to use part of the money just for extra support during the semester and the rest towards a trip abroad in summer.”

Winner, Polina Kalentsits, who is studying towards a joint honours degree in Fine Art with Film and Television Studies, said:

“I was absolutely delighted when I found out that I won the Price Davies Award. It was a real boost of confidence that my art is appreciated by the others and that it is worth doing! I am planning on spending the money on post graduate study in painting.”

The Price Davies Scholarships are provided from the income of a bequest made to the University in 1900 by the late Mr Price Davies of Leeds.

Eligible applicants must be pursuing a degree in Arts or in Science at Aberystwyth University.


Application forms for the Scholarship can be obtained by visiting:  

Or emailing  

Notes to Editors:

The University of Wales has decided to merge with the University of Wales: Trinity Saint David and Swansea Metropolitan University. The unified institution will be merged under the 1828 Royal Charter of the University of Wales: Trinity Saint David. This is an historic decision and offers the transformed University the opportunity to continue to serve higher education both within a Welsh and international context. It is envisaged that the three institutions will have integrated by 1 August 2012.

For more information on The University of Wales please visit:  

For press and media information, please contact Communications Officer, Tomas Llewelyn Barrett  


Search News

Select Category

Related Articles